Laptop based "server", MAC or Windows 7?

EDS_

Laptop based "server", MAC or Windows 7?
« on: 8 Oct 2009, 05:49 pm »
I am going to go "all-in" with either a MAC or Windows 7 laptop as my front end.  Give me your opinions as to which I should pick and why.  FWiiW I use a MacBooK and iTunes now and like it.  I have new HP on the way with W7.  I'd like to pick a direction and stick with it for a while.

Levi

Re: Laptop based "server", MAC or Windows 7?
« Reply #1 on: 8 Oct 2009, 06:13 pm »
Why not have both?  Buy a Mac and load Windows 7.  There, you have the best of both Worlds!

EDS_

« Reply #2 on: 8 Oct 2009, 06:17 pm »
Why not have both?  Buy a Mac and load Windows 7.  There, you have the best of both Worlds!

I have a Mac but hadn't even thought about a W7 dual boot or whatever the proper term is-.

EDS_

« Reply #3 on: 8 Oct 2009, 06:45 pm »
I'm kinda new to this but I plan on going a similar route myself, probably a Mac laptop and a firewire DAC. My question is, would there be any potential problems if I keep my music on an external HD and if not, should my external drive be connected via USB or Firewire? Sorry if that has been answered before.

I use an external drive via USB in and USB out to my Musical Fidelity DAC all the time through my Macbook. 

ctviggen

« Reply #4 on: 8 Oct 2009, 09:12 pm »
How does the USB DAC work?  Do you link software internal to the PC/Mac with the DAC? 

Levi

« Reply #5 on: 8 Oct 2009, 11:56 pm »
USB DAC is a regular DAC that has USB input.  You then connect your computer to the DAC via USB cable.  Once connected, any sound that will be coming out from your computer should go directly to the USB DAC and out to your speakers.   I use iTunes to play my music when using my computers. 

EDS_

« Reply #6 on: 9 Oct 2009, 12:26 am »
How does the USB DAC work?  Do you link software internal to the PC/Mac with the DAC?

http://www.stereophile.com/digitalprocessors/208mfx/

Here you go.

ctviggen

« Reply #7 on: 9 Oct 2009, 12:55 am »