Thinking about a pair of Salks...

chargedmr2

Thinking about a pair of Salks...
« on: 29 Sep 2009, 12:52 am »
I'm pretty new to audio, and would like to set up a nice 5.1 system in several stages.

Stage one will be the two front speakers, center speaker, and a receiver (or maybe separate processor and amp?) and this is what I would like to get some advice about (Subs and surrounds will come later). Here is some info that might help out:

Budget for stage one: about $3,000
Primary use: Home theater (90% movies, 10% music)
Room Size: 18'x23'x10' that opens into an attached kitchen
Distance between speakers: minimum would be about 9'
Distance from seating to Plasma: 9'

But here's the catch. This is our main living space so my flexibility with the room is very limited and the speaker placement must work around the existing furniture layout. I may be able to talk my loving wife into towers, but as you can see in the pic below, their is a chair that may impede upon the placement of the left tower. If we go with bookshelf speakers they would probably have to go in the media center.

What would you recommend for this situation? I'm very interested in the Song Towers (and the new HT1-TLs look interesting) and may be able to hear them in my area, but in the end, I'm not sure what's the best way to go with the current room that I have to work with.

Any recommendations...and remember, I'm a bit new to this.

DMurphy

• Industry Participant
    • SalkSound
Re: Thinking about a pair of Salks...
« Reply #1 on: 29 Sep 2009, 01:27 am »
Hmmmmm.  Can't you just lose the plant?  It would be happier near a window anyhow.  If it's real.   Then you could easily fit two ST's.  I wouldn't sweat the chair. 

Nuance

« Reply #2 on: 29 Sep 2009, 01:41 am »
Its tough to say, because in that room the only way to know for sure would be to try some SongTower's.