Blockbuster May Not Stay in Business

Bigfish

Blockbuster May Not Stay in Business
« on: 7 Apr 2009, 11:46 pm »
The front page of the money section of USA Today (4/7) had the headline of an article, "Blockbuster may not stay in business."

The article states that "movie rental company Blockbuster says the risk it may not complete financing deals raises substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern.  Blockbuster disclosed the warning in a regulatory filing Monday. 

I have a monthly subscription with Blockbuster and would hate to see them fold!

Ken

Ericus Rex

Re: Blockbuster May Not Stay in Business
« Reply #1 on: 7 Apr 2009, 11:52 pm »
Netflix ...in the library...with the iron pipe!

satfrat

• Restricted
  • Boston Red Sox!! 2004 / 2007 / 2013
« Reply #2 on: 7 Apr 2009, 11:55 pm »
Just rented 3 DVD's today from Blockbuster and this topic never came up with the guy behind the counter who I know fairly well. Tuesday has always been Blockbuster day, it would be a blow to see them go. :cry:

Cheers,
Robin

jermmd

« Reply #3 on: 8 Apr 2009, 12:26 am »
I would be sad to see Blockbuster go. I too belong to the monthly rental plan and I have two local stores that I go to regularly. It seems like brick and mortar stores are becoming a thing of the past.

rahimlee54

« Reply #4 on: 8 Apr 2009, 01:27 am »
Guess this is why Netflix doesn't feel any pain when laying on the fees for BR rentals, they may be the only show left in town, which would be bad because I read here and other places there is a 1 month lead time on most new release BRD.  I hope BB can restructure or find an investor but good luck with that currently.

JoshK

« Reply #5 on: 8 Apr 2009, 01:42 am »
Yeah, sounds like bad news. 

Story on Yahoo Finance