Questions on Sumiko cartridges

GETRDUN

Questions on Sumiko cartridges
« on: 31 Jan 2009, 07:21 am »
Just wanted to first say hello to everyone on here! I am a newbie here and have a couple of questions for a cartridge:

1-Wanting to upgrade my vintage turntable (Denon DP30L) I presently have a Sumiko Oyster cartridge on it, but want to upgrade to either the Blue point special or the Blackbird. Just wondering if anyone has heard both cartridges and could give some feed back? I was kinda thinking that the blackbird was overkill for my Denon.

2- Would it be recommended to upgrade the tonearm wire? I was told that it was a real job replacing the wires due to getting the proper alignment of the wires correct.

Any feed back would be appreciated!

Wayner

Re: Questions on Sumiko cartridges
« Reply #1 on: 31 Jan 2009, 02:11 pm »
I have the Blue Point Special and it isn't "special". I think there are lots of better cartridges/brands for the money, like Audio Technica, Grado, Ortofon even Denon has a lower priced/high performance cart that many here like.

Welcome to the Audiocircles!

Wayner

Kirk57

« Reply #2 on: 31 Jan 2009, 03:28 pm »
Hi-

I'm a first time poster, but been lurking for a while.

I can second the opinion on the Blue Point Special.  I have an EVO III and over the past 2 years I have tried 3 different tonearms (Systemdek, Sumiko MMT and Rega RB300) on three different turntables (Systemdek, Merrill-modded AR and Lenco) and could not get rid of a brightness in the upper midrange that revealed great detail but that drove me crazy in the end.

I know some have had good results with this cartridge in more expensive tonearms, but for those I tried the result was consistent.  Finally I have given up on the EVOII and am using a cheap Audio-Technica, which has bested a Grado Signature, Russ Andrews and Stanton. That's just in my system.
I'm looking at Audio Technica ML440MLa and Ortofon 2M Blue next.

Wayner

« Reply #3 on: 31 Jan 2009, 04:56 pm »
Kirk57,