Mini owner to be..

stlrman

Mini owner to be..
« on: 26 Sep 2008, 07:00 pm »
Hi,
I wanted to say hello to everyone in the SP Tech community, and a thank you to everyone who has guided me towards my puchase of the minins ,which I will be receiving in about a week. It was all of your great reviews ,and personal emails, and speaking with Bob at SP Tech that has me really excited to receive these amazing speakers!!
I will be using a Jolida 1501 rc (100 watt hybrid amp ) for a while with the minis in my living room. I want to upgrade to a Musical Fidelity A5 (250 watts ) down the road. I also will be using the oppo player as the cd transport.
I would appreciate any advice on set up, cables, etc. as I am very new to audio. I feel very lucky to have found SP Tech as my second speaker purchase, and I am really indebted to all those here on audiocircle who have helped me form my purchasing decision. Special thanks to Bob who has been very generous with he time and knowledge. I can't wait to finally experience the SOUND!
Thanks!
Todd

mcullinan

Re: Mini owner to be..
« Reply #1 on: 26 Sep 2008, 07:10 pm »
Congrats!
Do you have stands? Plus are you using a sub?
I will be a future owner of Continuum 2.5s... though I borrowed the minis for a while.. which sound awesome.
Id say your ear is woofer level, maybe top of woofer level. 200 watts, which you will have. For cables check out Strahley Reality cables.
Mike

stlrman

« Reply #2 on: 26 Sep 2008, 07:30 pm »
Yes , I have 37 inch stands which need to cut down as my wife is not happy with the height of the stands. This was the calculated height that I figured as my ears are about 42-44 inches when sitting on the couch. I will be about 11-12 feet back, the back up the speaker will only be about 13 inches from the back wall ,in order to align with the plasma and tv stand. I can pull them out a bit when listening critically.(mabey another foot )