Recommend A Driver

Browntrout

Recommend A Driver
« on: 22 Sep 2008, 07:42 pm »
Hello, I'm new to speaker building and was wondering if it is possible to get a good sound from an open-baffle full range speaker? I ask this question because to my inexperienced eyes and ears (and hands) this seems to be the easiest speaker to build and the most free from colouration.
  Also it would be my first project and was thinking I could utilise the same driver later on in a more complicated design be it multiple driver or horn enclosure etc....
  So if this was to be the plan...... single driver full range open-baffle speakers driven by 13Watt SET amp what would be a good driver to use? (P.S I also asked a similar question in the open-baffle 'circle' but thought you guys might also be able to help)

toocool4

Re: Recommend A Driver
« Reply #1 on: 22 Sep 2008, 08:44 pm »

A friend’s speaker uses the Jordan drivers, which appears to be quite capable.

Try this link http://www.ejjordan.co.uk/

Chris

raov1

« Reply #2 on: 22 Sep 2008, 11:52 pm »
What is your budget?  There are quite a few drivers that can be recommended.
 :D

ghpicard

« Reply #3 on: 23 Sep 2008, 02:42 pm »
Your idea of the intended size will help too...

Browntrout

« Reply #4 on: 23 Sep 2008, 06:09 pm »
Hello again, thanks for the replies and questions. The Jordan drivers are quite insensitive does this mean I would have to use several drivers per channel in series to get the efficiency up higher so my amp can drive them? I read a review of a MJ Acoustics speaker that used these drivers and it was well recieved.
   As to budget I honestly don't know. I would like the speakers to be capable of greater transparancy than my Cabasses' so whatever is required to obtain an improvement in that area really.
   The size I can accomadate in my listening room for the baffle is about 40" wide by 90" high, this is just the maximum size that could comfortably fit into the space were my speakers are at the moment.
   Thanks.