SP 3.0?

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 439461 times.

ariosto

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2060 on: 19 Jan 2016, 11:41 pm »
Has anyone compared the performance of the pre-amp section of the SP3 with that of the BP26 and, if so, with what result?

alexone

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1915
  • Anthony Bauer, Stan Rybb, John Stoneborough
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2061 on: 16 Feb 2016, 07:49 am »
James,

the SP3 has an optical output. is it possible to order the SP3 with coax out instead?

al.

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18828
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2062 on: 16 Feb 2016, 10:51 am »
James,

the SP3 has an optical output. is it possible to order the SP3 with coax out instead?

al.

No sorry - the circuit board would have to change,

james


Buseto

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 47
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2063 on: 3 Mar 2016, 11:13 am »
I haven't seen quite a time no new firmware. The last one I have is: 2015.09.a.

Is this indeed the most recent one?
« Last Edit: 4 Mar 2016, 09:21 am by Buseto »

Grit

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 707
  • - Garrett
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2064 on: 3 Mar 2016, 08:37 pm »
Well, if there are no bugs ....

I'd love to see them make the Aux L/R outputs have the ability to be unity gain so I could use them to provide the input for my BHA-1.

My other idea was for Bryston to create a web-based interface to program the SP3, and have the web-based interface upload the information to the SP3. If it's possible, it'd make for a smoother user interface without having to recreate how the SP3 stores data.

srb

Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2065 on: 3 Mar 2016, 09:01 pm »
I'd love to see them make the Aux L/R outputs have the ability to be unity gain so I could use them to provide the input for my BHA-1.

Couldn't either pair of tape outputs (Tape Recorder or Digital Video Recorder) be used which would be a fixed unattenuated output (unity gain)?

Steve

Grit

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 707
  • - Garrett
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2066 on: 4 Mar 2016, 05:35 am »
That's what I do. I'd like a balanced output option though.

wilsonij

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 71
  • BDP1>SP3>7B3s> Vandersteen Quatros
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2067 on: 7 May 2016, 10:37 am »
I will check but I believe USB input only.
Hi James

Were you able to confirm this either way - ie. if the SP-3 upgrade includes DSD over HDMI or DSD over USB only ?

Ian

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18828
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2068 on: 7 May 2016, 10:42 am »
Hi James

Were you able to confirm this either way - ie. if the SP-3 upgrade includes DSD over HDMI or DSD over USB only ?

Ian

Sorry I have not - I am suppose to get a sample SP3 next week with the new USB so I will find out.

james

wilsonij

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 71
  • BDP1>SP3>7B3s> Vandersteen Quatros
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2069 on: 7 May 2016, 11:16 am »
Sorry I have not - I am suppose to get a sample SP3 next week with the new USB so I will find out.

james

Ok, thank you James; looking forward to hearing about it in due course...

And speaking of SP-3 upgrades, is the 4k HDMI SP-3 modification both HDR (10 bit) and Dolby Vision (12 bit) compliant ?

Just trying to be doubly future proof ! :-)

Ian

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18828
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2070 on: 7 May 2016, 12:51 pm »
Ok, thank you James; looking forward to hearing about it in due course...

And speaking of SP-3 upgrades, is the 4k HDMI SP-3 modification both HDR (10 bit) and Dolby Vision (12 bit) compliant ?

Just trying to be doubly future proof ! :-)

Ian
\
Hi Ian

Sorry I do not know - I will forward to Stan

james

Paladin80N

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2071 on: 8 May 2016, 01:51 pm »
Hello James,

We are considering an SP-3 as our next processor. We have front speakers with built in subs in the front and the surrounds are crossed over with an active crossover. As such, they can handle both bass and a full LFE signal. Does the SP-3 send both the bass signal and full LFE to all speakers identified as full range when it (processor) is set as no subwoofer present? Thanks.

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18828
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2072 on: 8 May 2016, 02:30 pm »
Hello James,

We are considering an SP-3 as our next processor. We have front speakers with built in subs in the front and the surrounds are crossed over with an active crossover. As such, they can handle both bass and a full LFE signal. Does the SP-3 send both the bass signal and full LFE to all speakers identified as full range when it (processor) is set as no subwoofer present? Thanks.

I think it only sends the .1 channel to the front left and right but I will check with Stan

james

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18828
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2073 on: 9 May 2016, 07:04 pm »
Hello James,

We are considering an SP-3 as our next processor. We have front speakers with built in subs in the front and the surrounds are crossed over with an active crossover. As such, they can handle both bass and a full LFE signal. Does the SP-3 send both the bass signal and full LFE to all speakers identified as full range when it (processor) is set as no subwoofer present? Thanks.


I just checked it, if SUBWOOFER=OFF then  LFE is rerouted through all output speaker channels that are declared as LARGE except Center speaker.
Stan
 

 
 

Paladin80N

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2074 on: 11 May 2016, 11:17 pm »
Thanks for the prompt reply. We have one more question, does your new HDMI card support HDMI 2.0a and HDCP 2.2? We have 3 4K Ultra-HD sources we are going to be using.

Grit

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 707
  • - Garrett
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2075 on: 17 Jun 2016, 04:40 am »
Hi James,

I noticed there wasn't yet a reply about the upcoming HDMI upgrade board for the SP3. Any news on when the next board with HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 will be available, and how many of the HDMI ports will have it?

- Garrett

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18828
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2076 on: 17 Jun 2016, 10:14 am »
Hi James,

I noticed there wasn't yet a reply about the upcoming HDMI upgrade board for the SP3. Any news on when the next board with HDMI 2.0/HDCP 2.2 will be available, and how many of the HDMI ports will have it?

- Garrett

They tell me all the inputs will be 2.1 and 2.2 but not till late summer.

james

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 993
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2077 on: 17 Jun 2016, 11:05 am »
Who supplies the HDMI board for Bryston?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 18828
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2078 on: 17 Jun 2016, 11:40 am »
Who supplies the HDMI board for Bryston?

MDS

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 993
Re: SP 3.0?
« Reply #2079 on: 17 Jun 2016, 12:03 pm »
That's what I suspected. So the reason I ask is that there was a post on a Trinnov forum that early indications are the new cards may be moving from 8 inputs to 7. The Trinnov Altitude32, like the SP3 has 8 inputs and 2 outputs, if this reduction in inputs does happen would you have to redesign your back panel so that units which eventually ship with the new card installed would not have an empty slot or would you just leave things as is.

Apparently Lumagen also uses MDS and their larger units also have 8 inputs so they would be affected as well it would seem.