Help: newby looking for a simple 1-driver OB project

greg7

Hi. I'm new to this and needing advice. I'm considering building an OB speaker. I want something tube friendly (I own a 30 wpc push-pull integrated) and as minimalist as possible, preferably no crossover. I don't know if that's possible, though, so no big deal there. Up to $2000 what would my best option be for sound quality with those criteria? I'm considering Hawthorne Audio (though they use a crossover), Monacore B200, PHY-HP H21LB15, even the small CSS full-range driver.

D OB G

Re: Help: newby looking for a simple 1-driver OB project
« Reply #1 on: 26 Jan 2008, 03:49 am »
I'm just about to use the PHY-HP driver (SAG) as a midrange, but with a tweeter, which I feel will be mandatory, as the response drops like a stone at 10kHz.

Many people will recommend the Visaton B200 (which I haven't heard).

I didn't have any success with the Fostex FE206e I tried (I consider it the worst driver I have ever heard!).

David

D OB G

« Reply #2 on: 26 Jan 2008, 04:19 am »
(yes, I used the Fostex with bass augmentation!)

David

Bemopti123

« Reply #3 on: 26 Jan 2008, 06:11 am »
It seems as if Fertin with his special field coil drivers have allowed his daughter to come out with her own designs.  She has the option of pushing the drivers with a Field coil circuit OR Alnico magnet.  The Field coil drivers will set you back $2200 a pair + power supply.  The Alnico designs are 1/2 of that...12" diameter with hi qts and efficiency.  They have an add in Gon with the specs and some shots.

Had I known about this happening, I would have invested on a pair of $2200 fieldcoils.  The Supravoxes are Way too expensive. 

stereogeek

« Reply #4 on: 26 Jan 2008, 09:28 am »
Here's a shameless plug for the Hawthorne Audio Silver Iris's.Great OB sound for $300! And customer service second to none!!! I,m very happy with mine(can you tell?).

Steve :D

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #5 on: 26 Jan 2008, 10:41 am »