Dedicated Room planning

audiophyllic

Dedicated Room planning
« on: 15 Nov 2007, 01:13 am »
Hi,  total newbie here but I have been lurking and following the evolution/birth of the LS6/9 speakers.

I am building a dedicated hometheater room which will also function as my two channel setup.  It will be built entirely sound isolated and treated.  My interest is in using the LS9s as mains with LS6s for sides and rears.  For the center I would like an identical speaker but am unsure with the LS9 as to what would be best.

I have been leaning towards building the speakers myself since the cost of all 7 as a finished product will be high and also they will all be hidden.  However after seeing Daygloworange's pics I am very tempted to just pay for his expertise.

The room is large at approx 15'6" by 32' by 10' though that dimension could grow or shrink a tad based on soundproofing and of course the decor.  Any advice while I am in the planning stage would be appreciated.
The size of these speakers requires special planning and obviously space.

S Clark

Re: Dedicated Room planning
« Reply #1 on: 15 Nov 2007, 02:14 am »

I have been leaning towards building the speakers myself since the cost of all 7 as a finished product will be high and also they will all be hidden. 

The room is large at approx 15'6" by 32' by 10'

I don't quite see how you are going to "hide" four 80" towers  :scratch: and give them the space they need away from the walls.  You might consider a front pair of 9's or 6's and smaller surrounds.  You may find that will exceed any expectations that you may have had for your system.  The AV/0's or AV/1RS may actually be a better solution, leave some cash for electronics upgrades,  and provide a truly SOTA system  I suspect that Danny will come along soon with an opinion.

audiophyllic

« Reply #2 on: 15 Nov 2007, 02:28 am »