Ahhh... back to film

JohnR

Ahhh... back to film
« on: 2 Sep 2007, 08:28 am »
It was kindof a funny overcast day yesterday, so I decided to drop a roll of Tri-X into my Bessa-L and off I went. Now, while I've been playing around with digital for a few months, this was the camera that got me back into photography, in late 2005. It has a 25mm lens on it, which to be honest I feel (without doing any actual tests or comparisons at all) gives me better results than my 24mm Nikkor. Here it is:

There are a couple of very cool/interesting things about this guy. First is that it is scale focus. Meaning that you guess the distance to the subject and then move the marker on the lens to where you want it. This took a while to get used to, but in practice, with a wide angle lens like this (and especially in daylight) there is plenty of depth of field to cover inaccuracies. As often as not, you can just set the lens to the hyperfocal distance. At f11, for example, everything from 1m to infinity is in focus.

The second is that the meter LEDs are on the back of the camera. This means that you can meter without putting the camera to your eye. (And you can still see them when you do.) While I guess you could say that this is a natural consequence of the fact that the viewfinder optics are completely separate from the rest of the camera (see pic above), I still really like this feature and wish all cameras had it!

Anyway, so I really enjoyed my little outing. I wandered around a couple of beaches just taking pics of the bathing pools, reflections of the surf club in a pool, and some rocks. Hah, I love rocks :D I haven't had the film developed yet, let alone scanned, but here are a couple from this camera from last year. Let me know what you think :)

Ghost on the Water

Palm Beach Ferry

AdamM

• Robotbreeder.com
Re: Ahhh... back to film
« Reply #1 on: 2 Sep 2007, 09:16 am »
Beautiful shots

Such a great camera

It looks like we've got a few more things in common :)