Damping Material Experiments on RM 40's

ka7niq

• Roof Cleaning Tampa FL
Damping Material Experiments on RM 40's
« on: 3 Aug 2007, 03:20 am »
It is IMPORTANT to read the entire thread to follow completely my damping materials experiments !
Sometimes, problems ONLY show up in extending listening to varied recordings!

I recently did the mid woofer upgrade to my older Spiral TRT - RM 40's.
This was a BIG improvement.
This allowed me to turn the panels up w/o getting a hole in the response.
I have many years experience playing with the damping material inside of speakers.
And so, I decided to open the RM 40 mid range panels up.
I WAS prepared to add MORE Fiberglass, but the enclosures were stuffed to the gills with fiberglass already!
I decide to remove the fiberglass, and try some conventionally stuffed Dacron instead.
The Dacron sounded better.
So, that is when I decided to try a trick i learned.
I put 1/2 the amount of Dacron back in I took out, and compressed it as flat as I could against the back of the enclosure.
Then, I added  1/2 of what I had left into a second layer about 1/2 as compressed as the first layer.
Then, I added what was left to a loose layer right behind the ribbon drivers.
At NO time did I ever place any damping material behind the Tweeters in ANY of my experiment.
I simply left an "open space" behind the TWEETERS to  allow the ribbons to "breathe".
More on that later.

I re assembled the RM 40 with the new Dacron Variable Layer damping in it, and Oh My ....

It sounded so good, I did the other RM 40 just like it, and listened.
I liked what I heard .
A BIG improvement IMHO over the stock sound.

My single driver buddies have been raving lately about Kapok, an organic material made from the seeds of the  Kapok tree.
I read a Patent about it, and it worked GREAT in my Von Schweikert's.
I just bought a used set of older JBL L7's.
They are a 12" 4 way, and had a really bad lower midrange male voice coloration.