No Frills DAC

elg2001

No Frills DAC
« on: 27 Dec 2006, 12:48 am »
Hi Dusty,
    I sent you the email below, but I haven't gotten a response in about 2 weeks, so I figured I'd try here. I appologize if you've already received it and are planning to respond soon. Anyways, here's the email:

I'm an electrical engineer, so I know fluff when I see/hear it. I'm very interested in a DAC whose frequency response is dead flat and whose noise level, distortion level, and jitter are extremely low. I've been pointed to your VDA2 by a few people, and I'm interested in seeing some bench tests of it.
    I've read a few reviews of it, and those just help solidify the fact that fancy words and high prices are more important to most audiophiles than actual sound quality. Thus, I don't make my decision based on reviews, but rather based on cold, hard facts. For audio, the only way to do this is via oscilloscope/bench test readings, and that's exactly what I'm trying to find.
    At this point, I could care less about people's opinions about your product. Every review I read is glowing, and based on that I should buy this. Instead, I want to come to my own conclusions by seeing quantitative measurements. Can you provide me with some? The more extensive/detailed the better.

Sorry for rambling on, but I guess I was just venting somewhat. Searching for quality audio products is next to impossible with all the "reviews" floating around the web. Show me numbers, please. :)

I humbly await your response. Thanks for your time.

CIAudio

Re: No Frills DAC
« Reply #1 on: 27 Dec 2006, 02:36 am »
   I'm an electrical engineer, so I know fluff when I see/hear it. I'm very interested in a DAC whose frequency response is dead flat and whose noise level, distortion level, and jitter are extremely low. I've been pointed to your VDA2 by a few people, and I'm interested in seeing some bench tests of it.