Help with Pre/Pro or Receiver for ACI Sapphire XL mains & Force XL sub

innov8ion

Ok, I'm taking what I consider to be my first true foray into the audiophile-class A/v world and really appreciate your feedback.  I'm coming from NHT Super Two, Velodyne SPL1200 and Onkyo A-SV610PRO Receiver.  Where am I going? 

I just moved to a smallish loft, so space is at a premium and seating location isn't quite optimal.  I was looking for smallish mains that were accurate while sounding far from small.  Also, where placement wasn't as crucial as other speakers (such as Vandersteens) and soundstage was open or diffuse.  (I hope I'm describing this faithfully, I'm not an expert...)  Value was also critical.  After careful research, I've decided on a pair of ACI Sapphire XL speakers w/ matching Sound Anchor speaker stands and an ACI Force XL sub.  I got what I feel to be an excellent deal on them.

Now the problem; what receiver or pre/pro & amp will make my setup shine for approximately $1500 or less?  As for the amp, my needs are 2 channels that will faithfully power and match my Sapphire XL's well.  Keep in mind, these speakers aren't overly efficient at 85 db.  (A receiver could be 5 channel, but I'll only be using 2 of them...)   Primarily this will be for music, however I will want to connect other sources such as DVD Player, Satellite and D-Link DSM-320.  I don't want the setup to be a kluge; it should be elegant yet not overly sacrifice flexibility or quality.  I'd rather concentrate more on the amplifier than pre pro because I'd like the newer HDMI spec that may not be out in the market yet.

Amps I have looked at include NAD C272, Adcom GFA-5400 or 5500, pair of Outlaw 2200 monoblocks, etc.  Also, a Dussun V-8i. Pre Pros I have looked at are the Outlaw 970 and NAD T163.  The NAD T175 is coming soon, which looks great (and over my budget, but I could be flexible in time....)  I think I'd like to match the amp/pre pro; but does it matter much?