HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 3469 times.

rklein

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1099
  • My finest audio piece ever!!
HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« on: 8 Nov 2006, 03:43 pm »
Hi All:

I have been lurking around in the Mapletree circle for sometime now.    My system is as follows:

Odyssey Tempest Pre w/HT Bypass
Odyssey Khartago Amp
Bolder digital modded SB3 fed into a Zhalou 2.0 DAC
Odyssey Nightengale speakers
Marantz SR-7200 Receiver (powers my Odyssey Nemesis CC & two NHT Super Zero rears)

I really am interested in either building a 2A SE or purchasing the Ultra 4A SE.  Does anyone know if these pre's can be integrated into a 2 channel/HT setup?

Thanks,
rklein

Brad

Re: HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« Reply #1 on: 8 Nov 2006, 03:59 pm »
I'm sure Dr. Lloyd could change one of the inputs to unity gain to work with your HT system - but I'll let him respond.


Berndt

Re: HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« Reply #2 on: 8 Nov 2006, 04:12 pm »
Dr Lloyd answers emails really quick, I have not seen him post for a while.

rklein

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1099
  • My finest audio piece ever!!
Re: HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« Reply #3 on: 8 Nov 2006, 04:24 pm »
Thanks Berndt/Brad

I will email Dr. Lloyd on this question.

Cheers,
rklein

James Romeyn

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 3309
  • James Romeyn Music and Audio, LLC
    • James Romeyn Music and Audio, LLC
Re: HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« Reply #4 on: 23 Nov 2006, 03:58 am »
I was shocked when Bill brought over his 2A preamp.  I lived in ignorant bliss till he inserted the preamp between my CDP & hybrid integrated.  As far as I know the CDP has good output current & the integrated's input impedance is moderate & not too low.  The 2A seemed to improve the sound from top to bottom w/ absolutely no downside that I could detect.  It was not expected that two extra sets of jacks, a gain stage, & another interconnect would improve the sound, & yet it did!

Now I'm considering getting a 2A preamp & maybe a straight power amp to replace the integrated.  It seems dumb to go through an unnecessary preamp stage & level control.   

TomW16

Re: HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« Reply #5 on: 23 Nov 2006, 05:16 pm »
Thanks Berndt/Brad

I will email Dr. Lloyd on this question.

Cheers,
rklein

Hey rklein,

If you hear from Dr. Lloyd, I would also like to hear whether a hometheater bypass is easily implemented.

Thanks.

Tom

rklein

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1099
  • My finest audio piece ever!!
Re: HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« Reply #6 on: 25 Nov 2006, 12:21 am »
Quote
Hey rklein,

If you hear from Dr. Lloyd, I would also like to hear whether a hometheater bypass is easily implemented.

Thanks.

Tom

Hi Tom:

I did email Dr. Lloyd the same day I posted my thread and have not heard back from him concerning the HT Bypass.   Maybe if we gang up on him, he might take pity on those of us who cannot have a dedicated two channel rig.

Cheers

rklein

TomW16

Re: HT bypass in Ultra 4A SE
« Reply #7 on: 25 Nov 2006, 05:24 am »
Hi Tom:

I did email Dr. Lloyd the same day I posted my thread and have not heard back from him concerning the HT Bypass.   Maybe if we gang up on him, he might take pity on those of us who cannot have a dedicated two channel rig.

Cheers

rklein

Sounds good rklein.  I'll let you know if I hear first   :)