Pulled the trigger on a pair of Tanzinites kits

ecramer

• Volunteer
  • In time whats deserved always get served.
Pulled the trigger on a pair of Tanzinites kits
« on: 7 Sep 2006, 03:50 am »
I emailed Rick a couple of weeks ago about new speakers I would like to build and what kit would be most appropriate for me. With near field listening in a 10 by 12 room and not being a bass head, we decided that a pair of Tanzanites would be the best fit for my room size and listening preferences (Thanks Rick)

I asked Rick if it would be okay to post some Pictures of the build as their is some interest in this kind of thing. While I do mill work for a living and have done quite a bit of Formica work building Kitchen cabinets and counter tops I have only used wood veneer twice before The Fist job was a bar laminated in paper backed Zebra Wood veneer for the Four Seasons Hotel in Miami and the second was a pair of Dayton III speakers that I Am replacing with the Tanzanites. Pretty big step up bet it is going to be like getting out of a vega and into a caddy lol. I first had to get the Stereo rack I have been building for the last month and a half. Twenty hours of overtime milling wood does not usually incourage me to come home and do more wood work in my spare time.

I found a very nice quilted Bubinga veneer at VeneerSupplies.com and a piece of Bubinga lumber from InternetLumber.com to make the real wood edging. Both sites were quick to answer any questions I had and provided quick service. If things go right lol  I will post progess reports and a couple of pictures along the way There is the kit and the veneer and lumber.

DSK

Re: Pulled the trigger on a pair of Tanzinites kits
« Reply #1 on: 7 Sep 2006, 04:04 am »
Wow! That is one gorgeous rack.