Force and Magnepan 1.6

Parnelli777

Force and Magnepan 1.6
« on: 2 Apr 2006, 07:19 pm »
Just ordered, but have not received the Force sub.

Any tips or suggestions from other Magnepan owners regarding what filter and phase settings you like, etc.? I have 2 sets of outputs on my preamp, so I'd like to go from the L/R preamp outputs to the Force line level L/R inputs with 2 Blue Jeans sub cables that I already have.

I'm new to the subwoofer world, in that I've never owned one, but am very much looking forward to this sub as it is very well spoken of in general, and with the Magnepans as well.

Thanks for any input on this.

Harry P2

Force and Magnepan 1.6
« Reply #1 on: 5 Apr 2006, 11:58 am »
I don't currently own Maggies bu have in the past. I do own a pair of Force subs. You will be able to get the Force to blend perfectly but there really is no magic answer to settings other than follow the steps in the manual and learn what changing each setting does. When i first got the Force I bugged ACI for how to set it up and then I finally just got down to it and wow! I would start with a very low crossover frequency and gradually work your way up. Then experiement with the phase.

MaxCast

Force and Magnepan 1.6
« Reply #2 on: 5 Apr 2006, 12:30 pm »
Does not ACI send a test cd with their subs?
If so. then you need a spl meter and your all set.
You can even try going through the subs xo to low pass your 1.6's.

Mike Dzurko

Force and Magnepan 1.6
« Reply #3 on: 5 Apr 2006, 06:59 pm »
Quote from: MaxCast
Does not ACI send a test cd with their subs?
If so. then you need a spl meter and your all set.
You can even try going through the subs xo to low pass your 1.6's.

Maxcast: