Clarinet break-in?

analog97

Clarinet break-in?
« on: 22 Feb 2006, 01:40 pm »
I have just put about 5 hours on my Clarinet.  Mine is completely "stock", except for Auricap upgrades.  I notice 3 things that I am concrned about: 1. after turn-on, there are a few "pops" that occur about a couple seconds after the green light comes on and 2.  the Clarinet seems to "hiss", not hum thru my speakers.  This hiss is not affected by the volume control. 3.  there is some intermittent "squeal" at idle.  I am guessing this is "tube squeal", but I am new to tubes. Any thoughts out there about cause?  Is this related to break-in?   Any thoughts warmly appreciated.

Eric H

Clarinet break-in?
« Reply #1 on: 23 Feb 2006, 07:31 am »
None of that sounds like break-in to me.  I'm not sure about 1) and 2) but 3) sounds like it could be tube microphonics.  Have you tried swapping tubes, including the rectifier, one-by-one?  Might help the other issues, too...  what tubes are you using?

analog97

Clarinet break-in?
« Reply #2 on: 23 Feb 2006, 02:04 pm »
I am using an RCA 5Y3GT and 2 EI 12AU7's.  I have heard off tube "microphonics" and you may be correct.  I am less concerned about that than the much more audible "hisss" that comes from the speakers.  Last nite I turned on my Clarinet and Cornet2 first, then waited about 10 minutes before turning on my amp.  I did not hear the "pops".    Maybe this turn-on order makes sense.   Thanks for the input.

GRD

Hisss and pops
« Reply #3 on: 23 Feb 2006, 05:28 pm »
It's not unusual to get a voltage spike on the output when first turning on a tube (or even SS) component.  So, I turn on the upstream components one by one.  Phono stage, wait a minuite or so for the tubes to come on, then the pre-amp, wait a minuite or so again, and then the power amp.  Turn-off is the reverse sequence.  No pops this way.