Why I Like Vinnie's Approach

konut

• Came for the value, stayed for the drama
« on: 17 Aug 2005, 01:34 am »
I have been following the Redwine Audio story since it's inception. I had seen battery solutions for high end audio before involving circuitry going from AC to battery to DC and back to AC before feeding the component in use. All this to get clean, regulated, pristine power. These devices were not cheap, and its no wonder why. Then, to top it off, there have been companies modding the power supplies to any and all components to achieve the kind of power delivery required for superior sound. A bit of digression is required.
        My interest in audio began as a volunteer in the college coffee house at Ohio University. I graduated from setting up chairs to running the sound board. As we proggresively improved our equipment, I noticed that the better the components got, the more dynamic the presentation. Transient attacks of cymbal strikes, kick drum, vocal ennunciation of Ps and Bs would send the VU meter flying into the red if a too hot level was dialed in. Of course this differed significantly from the kind of sound that we were used to hearing on our stereos in the dorms. It became evident to me that some kind of limiting was being used to keep the music from becoming distorted when being fit on an LP. After college I had my own sound company for a couple of years. I bought a Crown DC300A amp which was the standard for sound reinforcement at the time. It was known for its ruggedness and being able to supply increasing amounts of power down to 1 ohm loads, due to its massive transformer and supply caps the size of soda cans. While not the best sounding amp by todays standards, it taught me the importance of a robust power supply to deliver instantaneous power for the reproduction of live music.