Clari-T Dual Mono Blackgates No Volume Upgraded Connectors

miklorsmith

This is tough.  We as a tribe lack the critical zero point.  How does one use their own experience, unknown to others, to establish a common link? (rhetorical).  I am at a loss.  I have received a new amplifier from Vinnie, per above specifications, and find my descriptions already used previously.  By me.

My previous unit was "original stock", no upgrades, with volume control.  I've been using it for about 3 months and have preferred it to all others I've heard.

This thing is bigger.  Physically first - it's probably 70% bigger than the stock Clari-T and probably 4 times the weight.  It has two batteries, each of which is three times the size of the original.  It has heft beyond its size, which is about 1/3 the size of my preamp.  The new "Red Wine Audio" badge is understated and classy.

It sounds humungous.  Stereo separation is much greater than stock.  Punch and drive are already superior by a wide margin.  Finesse, especially in the treble, might be a tad behind the stock unit.  I was sitting in the chair, trying to put observations into words - specifically regarding limitations and weaknesses.  That's the best I can find.  

In absolute terms, the sound lacks nothing with no break-in.  Remembering the degree of change of the original unit over time, I don't know what to make of it.  I feel like I'm watching the state of the art migrate on GPS, right before my eyes.  What is the zero-point?

I don't think it exists in absolute terms - our brave pioneers are creating it day-by-day.  How will I describe the changes to come?  Absolutes are worn out by every reviewer that's had a new cable.

I used to print out every new cable review and suffer through the choices arising therefrom.  Which interconnect will take me to the promised land?  Power cords seem like a good idea - should I spend $300 or $500 ea?  Would the Parasound JC-1's be a great deal at $4k vs. my existing amp?