New audiophile

fgozman

New audiophile
« on: 4 Nov 2020, 09:23 am »
Hi,

I'm new to this field of audiophile and I would like to learn. Also, I'm interested to acquire some equipment and maybe build some. I hope I'm in the right place here and find some help. Thanks!

Best regards,

Leo

FullRangeMan

• Facilitator
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: New audiophile
« Reply #1 on: 4 Nov 2020, 09:58 am »
Welcome Leo :thumb:

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #2 on: 4 Nov 2020, 02:01 pm »
Welcome!

There's never been a better time to get into audio from a cost and convenience perspective.

First I'd equip myself with knowledge.  Stick with quality brands/people that in the long run is the safer/cheaper route.  Quality measured in experience, depth of R&D and in-house manufacturing.  Set a budget ($1000 can buy a nice system but the sky is the limit).  Determine if you're a techno geek or just a music lover.

Learn yourself, your musical (genres) and audio (boomy versus tight bass, pinpoint imaging or a huge soundstage, zingy or precise highs, etc.)  preferences.  Educate your ear for musical and audio aspects.  The faster your tastes mature, the quicker you can arrive at a "final solution" and avoid mis-steps and wasted time/money.

Next decide on your listening environment.  Best to not be small/squarish, but insulated and hopefully dedicated.  My room is 8ft x 13ft x 21ft, well insulated, and dedicated (nearly ideal for a smaller room).