Parasound vs. Krell for 2 channel

GoBlue1985

Parasound vs. Krell for 2 channel
« on: 22 Jun 2020, 07:30 am »
Hey there - primarily a HT guy here. lately I have been listening to much more music though. Six months ago, I bought JTR speakers and I love their sound/fullness for music. I have been running a Krell Chorus 5200 for 3 years. Love it, but recently added side surrounds. Grabbed a stereo D-Sonic to cover me...and tried it for my LR. I personally thought it felt a little thin/weaker, so I decided to switch back to the Krell for LR. So, I'm wondering if I should just keep it as is, or try to improve my 2 channel a bit. Would a Parasound A21+ sound "better" than the Krell? I have heard the Parasound has great control of bass response, and that many people love their sound. I heard one once w/ Martin Logans and loved it. I also wonder if having 5 channels in the same box isn't as effective. I thought about going Jc1 mono blocks, but I don't have the space. Sorry this was so Long winded, LOL. But to all you out there smarter than me - should I check out a Parasound or just stick w/ Krell? thanks!

Big Red Machine

Re: Parasound vs. Krell for 2 channel
« Reply #1 on: 22 Jun 2020, 11:57 am »
They are different sounding amps, for sure. Do you have concerns the tone/characteristics may change if you mix amp brands? I'm not a fan of either brand myself, but they can put out enough to rock your world.

I.Greyhound Fan

« Reply #2 on: 22 Jun 2020, 05:25 pm »
I was an A21 owner and I have heard the A21+.  The newer amp is an improvement from the A21 which was getting long in the tooth.
I have not heard the Krell but it cost almost 3x's the price of the A21+.  The new Parasound JC5 would be more on par with the Krell and the JC1 monoblocks.  You will have to listen to them yourself.  Personally, I am a Pass amp guy. 

RonN5

« Reply #3 on: 22 Jun 2020, 06:21 pm »