Bryston SP4

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 27994 times.

Grit

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 655
  • - Garrett
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #220 on: 26 Mar 2019, 05:02 pm »
What's the ETA on 2-ch bypass for the SP4?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 17679
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #221 on: 26 Mar 2019, 08:50 pm »
What's the ETA on 2-ch bypass for the SP4?

I would say at least a year.

james

Grit

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 655
  • - Garrett
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #222 on: 27 Mar 2019, 06:48 pm »
Kinda SP4 related... any ETA on the 9B3?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 17679
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #223 on: 27 Mar 2019, 07:08 pm »
Kinda SP4 related... any ETA on the 9B3?

Yes building 9B Cubes now.

James

Grit

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 655
  • - Garrett
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #224 on: 28 Mar 2019, 05:02 am »
Woohoo!

What are the final specs for power (if you can release that yet?).

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 17679
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #225 on: 28 Mar 2019, 10:47 am »
Woohoo!

What are the final specs for power (if you can release that yet?).

The power has been increased to 200 watts per channel from 150.

james

Grit

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 655
  • - Garrett
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #226 on: 28 Mar 2019, 05:17 pm »
At 8 ohms?
What does it go to at 4 ohms? 300 wpc?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 17679
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #227 on: 28 Mar 2019, 05:41 pm »
At 8 ohms?
What does it go to at 4 ohms? 300 wpc?

Yes 300 plus.

james

Rooster19

Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #228 on: 28 Mar 2019, 08:18 pm »
Rooster19, did you get a chance to fire it up yet? How was the installation process?

not yet. Working on getting my URC remote to work with it first so the family doesn’t get angry if i put in something they can’t yse

alexone

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1858
  • Anthony Bauer, Stan Rybb, John Stoneborough
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #229 on: 8 Apr 2019, 10:51 am »

...cool! new 9B³ :thumb:

any (topless) pics for us, James :drool: :drool:

al.


witchdoctor

Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #231 on: 30 Apr 2019, 03:05 pm »
not yet. Working on getting my URC remote to work with it first so the family doesn’t get angry if i put in something they can’t yse

Any updates on the SP4 yet?

Extreman

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 7
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #232 on: 24 May 2019, 10:56 pm »
Hi Luigi

No I am sorry it can not be smaller as we need the depth because we are using a 3U chassis size whereas the StormAudio unit is a 4U.

james

New potential SP4 customer here  :)
My biggest problem with the increased depth due to 3U size is whether the front feets of the unit will extend beyond the rack-shelf or not. I need a drawing w/dimensions showing the placement of those feets to determine this. One remedy may be to remove the feets (if possible) and put the unit on suited isolation pads supporting the weight of the unit.

Please advice.

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 17679
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #233 on: 24 May 2019, 11:44 pm »
Hi Extreman

I will check with engineering for you.

james

Extreman

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 7
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #234 on: 25 May 2019, 12:06 am »
Thank you.
My configuration is 7.1.2.
What I can’t see from the manual is how to tell the system that my Atmos heights are top middle and not top front or top rear. Will top middle be matrix-generated?
Also, can you confirm that the Master volume extends to +12dB gain.

witchdoctor

Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #235 on: 27 May 2019, 10:46 am »
not yet. Working on getting my URC remote to work with it first so the family doesn’t get angry if i put in something they can’t yse

Rooster19 any comments yet? Did you keep the unit or sell it?

James Tanner

  • Facilitator
  • Posts: 17679
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #236 on: 27 Jun 2019, 11:54 am »


MEMO: To All Bryston Customers
SUBJECT: KL International Show in Malaysia

Hi James,

At this year’s KL International AV Show (26-28 July) we will be showcasing the Bryston SP4 at the heart of our home theatre demo.

Setting a new standard for audio quality, the SP4 is a true 15.1 channel discrete unit that is compatible with object-based surround formats (Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, Auro-3D). Developed in partnership with Immersive Audio Technologies, this new processor is at the helm of high quality home theaters built for home cinema enthusiasts.

For those who demand master quality performance and lifelike audio rendition, the Bryston SP4 delivers an immersive experience.

While the ‘Dirac Live Room Correction Suite™’ is an optional add-on, it is activated in our demo unit to provide an even higher level of audio calibration.

Come experience the latest in immersive surround sound at our room (MR 7) at this year’s AV Show.


Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 968
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #237 on: 27 Jun 2019, 12:11 pm »
It's great to see all of the accolades but I have to wonder about the reviewers. For those who rave about the audio fidelity are they only listening to the audio in movies and then trying to compare that to Atmos equipped receivers or are they actually listening to music?? If listening to music are they then only listening to CD's? I ask because I know this unit is only capable of 24/48 internal audio so anyone commenting on the units audio prowess of high res music is not very knowledgeable about the unit's shortcoming thus in turn if they are feeding it a 24/88.2, 24/96, 24/176.4 or 24/192 music file they are not hearing that back. They are hearing the result of it being down sampled to 24/48 then upsampled back up to the resolution of the DAC.

Storm and Bryston would have a SSP killer on their hands at these prices if the unit was truly high res capable (24/192) on all channels. I keep hoping and holding off on a replacement for my SSP that Storm and Bryston will upgrade the unit to the audio standards it deserves to be running at. Pretty please, can you update  :green:

witchdoctor

Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #238 on: 27 Jun 2019, 02:53 pm »
Rod-S your request certainly seems reasonable for a SOA unit. Why would they drop $$$ licensing Dirac but skimp on the dac??

In all fairness most listeners could probably not tell the difference in a blind listening test but it would make sense from at least a marketing point of view.

Rod_S

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 968
Re: Bryston SP4
« Reply #239 on: 27 Jun 2019, 07:08 pm »
Yeah that's definitely a valid point about most people not really being able to tell teh difference.

It's not the DAC's that are lacking, those are at least 24/192 it's the internal processing that's the bottle neck i.e. matrix processing, Dirac, etc. the SP4's direct competition all have 24/96 with the Trinnov Altitude32 being the exception at 24/192 on I believe 24 channels and 24/96 on 32 channels. That means both the Theta Casablanca and Datasat LS10 which both are DSP based SSP's like the Bryston (vs PC Intel chips) are both able to achieve 24/92 and both the Datasat and Theta have Dirac like the Bryston.