Bryston BP17 Cubed preamplifier

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 24453 times.

Stefan_DR3

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 36
Re: Bryston BP17 Cubed preamplifier
« Reply #200 on: 1 Jan 2019, 09:17 pm »
I believe the last few posts are regarding grounding. DC voltage on output and pops sounds like ground loops. Difference between RCA and xlr sounds like ground loops. Difference in dry and humid conditions sounds like groundloop. Are all components connected to a same circuit? I have bp16p, bp173p, BDA3 and bdp3. I have heard pops and noice, but it has always been related to grounding. Right now I connect all components to socket with common ground, BUT the common ground is not grounded. I use xlr between bdp3 and bp173 and RCA to amps.

Thanks for the suggestion.  I did have my 7B2 amps on a separate circuit, with everything else on a BIT-15.  I was hoping you were onto something so I just moved the amps to the same circuit as the BIT-15 (everything is on the BIT-15 now).  No change in the noise or pops either way.  :(

lsolimine

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Bryston BP17 Cubed preamplifier
« Reply #201 on: 3 Jan 2019, 03:56 pm »
Good day.  My first post.  I am thinking of adding the BP17 to enhance my two-channel sound.  I will need to use the Home Theater Bypass.  From the literature, it appears I will always need to use the BR2 to toggle the bypass on and off.  Is that the case? Thank you.

Lou

Stefan_DR3

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 36
Re: Bryston BP17 Cubed preamplifier
« Reply #202 on: 7 Jan 2019, 11:06 pm »
Good day.  My first post.  I am thinking of adding the BP17 to enhance my two-channel sound.  I will need to use the Home Theater Bypass.  From the literature, it appears I will always need to use the BR2 to toggle the bypass on and off.  Is that the case? Thank you.

Only when you want to change the Bypass setting or move your processor to another input.  Once set, for a given input, the unit remembers the Bypass (and Trigger) settings for that input.

I use a cheap Logitech Harmony remote which has soft keys programmed to toggle the Bypass (and Trigger) on/off.  I have a BR2 but I don't use it for those special functions.

lsolimine

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Bryston BP17 Cubed preamplifier
« Reply #203 on: 9 Jan 2019, 05:44 pm »
Dear Stefan,

Thank you very much for the information.  Take care.

Lou

alexone

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1832
  • Anthony Bauer, Stan Rybb, John Stoneborough
Re: Bryston BP17 Cubed preamplifier
« Reply #204 on: 10 Jan 2019, 10:20 pm »
James,

any chance that the dac of the 17cubed will have usb (with dsd) ?? i think it‘s really great to have 192/24 via spdif but usb/dsd would be cool as well.

al.

unincognito

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 1737
    • bryston.com
Re: Bryston BP17 Cubed preamplifier
« Reply #205 on: 10 Jan 2019, 10:49 pm »
James,

any chance that the dac of the 17cubed will have usb (with dsd) ?? i think it‘s really great to have 192/24 via spdif but usb/dsd would be cool as well.

al.

Sorry, no usb/dsd