3-driver Open Baffle design

YashN

3-driver Open Baffle design
« on: 10 May 2016, 03:33 am »
I want to build my first Open-Baffle speakers and this is quite exciting as I now listen to my DIY Single-Ended Triode Tube Amp which brings a lot of satisfaction (based on the Tubelab SSE PCB!).

Currently, I am using Totem Mites, which are not as efficient as I would like, hence the new build. I have been reading about Open Baffle designs and so far I have a few questions which must be those of a total newbie (which Open Baffle-wise, I am!):

Are there advantages of having a single baffle with the 3 drivers as opposed to say 1 baffle for full-range + tweeter and another one for the woofer?

I have even seen a commercial open-baffle use three small baffles in a plane for each driver. What are the pros and cons of doing it this way as opposed to one continuous baffle surface or two?

The SET amp will tackle the mid-range as well as the highs for now and a SS amp the woofer/bass/sub, but since the SET amp is low power (sounds fantastic though!) and I would need to look for high-efficiency drivers does it always follow that I would need two woofers?

Thirdly, let's suppose I make the Full-range to Woofer cross-over at 250Hz to simplify, could I consider building a single Sub-woofer box with two drivers? In that case, would that affect stereo imaging at all at these low frequencies?

And finally for now (but do expect some more questions as go along :P ), how does one size and shape the baffles? Are there systematic calculations starting from driver parameters or characteristics that are used to derive the best size and shape for each baffle?

G Georgopoulos

• Restricted
Re: 3-driver Open Baffle design
« Reply #1 on: 10 May 2016, 04:38 am »
for low end efficiency make the baffle big
mid and high drivers are out of the equation
choose a woofer with qts =>1.0 for greater low end response
system response q will fall to low levels with greater low end response

all the best