DAC-9

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 84048 times.

simon740

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 44
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #320 on: 16 Aug 2019, 02:55 pm »
That will work fine, with no issues.

Thank you

regards,
Simon

Jargier

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Hi
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #321 on: 29 May 2020, 01:23 pm »
Hi everyone.
I have a question. Is it possible to dim the LEDs in Dac-9? Can you insert any foil from the inside? How does it look like?

rustydoglim

Re: DAC-9
« Reply #322 on: 30 May 2020, 12:41 am »
A faster and convenient way is to use a dark marker pen with fine tip to darken the LED without opening up the case.

Jargier

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Hi
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #323 on: 30 May 2020, 05:14 am »
Dark foil would cover all holes at once. But is it possible to put this film between LED and case? I haven't opened the case yet.

pewe

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 50
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #324 on: 7 Nov 2020, 09:19 pm »
I have a DAC-9, very happy with it. But, when using my brand new Onkyo cd-player as a transport to the DAC-9 I sometimes get 1 second long sound drop out. Using the coax input. RCA works perfectly. Is this jitter? How do I fix it ?

rustydoglim

Re: DAC-9
« Reply #325 on: 8 Nov 2020, 04:08 am »
Hard to say if the problem is with the Onkyo CDP or DAC-9. We have sold over a thousand Nuprime CDT-8 Pro and many of them are used with DAC-9, never heard such problem.

pewe

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 50
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #326 on: 8 Nov 2020, 09:31 am »
Thank you for your answer. It's a strange problem, never heard of it myself. If someone else here has any experience I appreciate your input.

John Casler

Re: DAC-9
« Reply #327 on: 8 Nov 2020, 05:20 pm »
It could be a "digital handshake" delay.

That means the player, or DAC does not sense and connect to the digital stream immediately.

Not sure of any remedy.  It could be a delay in the DAC sensing the stream, the Player not sending, or a weak cable.

You might try switching cables, as well as COAX and OPTICAL.

pewe

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 50
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #328 on: 8 Nov 2020, 06:42 pm »
Thanks John. Must be the cable or the cd-player. I'll try another coaxial cable. It's a shame, because when I use the coaxial input on the DAC-9 the sound is excellent. Just these  distracting drop outs...

Jargier

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Hi
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #329 on: 9 Nov 2020, 04:39 pm »
I had a similar problem. Two sources / amplifiers were connected and when I only turned on the power one, the signal disappeared from the first one. Weird. Could this be a "ground loop" problem !?

grubyhalo

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #330 on: 15 Dec 2020, 07:03 pm »
Hi all

Does anyone here know the input impedance of the analog line-in for the DAC-9? Thanks in advance.

Cheers.

grubyhalo

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 86
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #331 on: 16 Dec 2020, 12:05 pm »
Looks like the Input impedance is 470k Ohms, according to Support

mresseguie

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 4031
  • SW1X DAC + Don Sachs + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven!
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #332 on: 16 Dec 2020, 02:09 pm »
You found it! Good.

I spent about ten minutes searching the Nuprime website but came up with nothing for the DAC-9.

Michael

robt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #333 on: 6 Jan 2021, 04:17 pm »
Hi everyone , my first post ! My out of warranty dac 9 got smoked due to a power surge , funny it was the only device in my rack that was damaged ,the transformer had a major meltdown , Nu prime was good enough to send a replacement transformer gratis but it got very hot right away so it was unplugged , so indicates a short on the dac board .Are these boards repairable? Replacement boards from Nu prime are almost $500.00 cdn landed so not worth it .Thanks for your time .

rustydoglim

Re: DAC-9
« Reply #334 on: 10 Jan 2021, 09:33 pm »
You should send the DAC-9 to Aamir to find out what's wrong. Perhaps the power supply is not the only one that got fried.
Was it connected to a quality surge protector ?

yotzee

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 8
Re: DAC-9
« Reply #335 on: 16 Jan 2021, 11:34 am »
Can someone post witch volume number how much voltage level at XLR or RCA has?
I has a Linn Klout amp on RCA at me. I do not want to owerdrive it!