How should I setup a 2 channel music/HT system?

driggity

« on: 8 Jul 2004, 05:03 pm »
So I'm looking to upgrade from my not so good Kenwood HTIB that I've been using for a few years.  My main concern is music quality and the more I've thought about it the more I've realized that maybe I don't even need 5 channels for DVD watching.

I originally thought about using a DVD (or universal) player, telling it that only the left and right channel are active and using the analog connection for those two channels to connect to a stereo preamp or integrated amp.  But I'm not sure if this would get me the best sound for movies.  Would I be better off sending a digital multichannel signal to a home theater receiver and letting that do the downmixing to two channels?  If I did this I could use an integrated amp or preamp/amp combo directly for 2 channel audio.  I have read about a number of people on this board using that sort of a setup but they all seem to be using the receiver to drive the center and surround channels which is something I don't need to do.

I'm not sure exactly how much I want to spend on everything but I'm looking at speakers in the $1-1.5K range, and a DVD or universal player in the $500 range.

Thanks

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #1 on: 8 Jul 2004, 10:29 pm »
I have separated my audio and HT systems, but the HT system is still just 2.1.  My 95% priority is audio.  I don't watch much.  It took 4 months after adding the HT equipment for anyone else in the family to ask what it was.  We still almost never turn the HT system on beyond the TV except for action movie DVDs.  Oviously having separate systems allows for two different uses in two different rooms at once.

I recently heard my first multi-channel SACD and was not impressed.  A should be expected, the side/rear 4 channels added nothing as it was a studio recording.  Most watching is also of events in front of you.