Setting Up My V1s

SteveRB

Setting Up My V1s
« on: 3 Mar 2013, 05:59 am »
Hello,

I've been enjoying my V1s for a few months now. (http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=109455.0)

I feel as though most of the burn-in has happened and the V1s are now consistent day-to-day. However, I have recently moved into a new apartment and I have not been able to get comfortable with the sound in the new room. I was hoping to get some guidance on optimum set-up procedures.

The room is roughly 12'x16' with 9' ceilings with stair and hallways on either side. The speakers are centred on the long wall and spaced 8' apart. The speakers are roughly 3' off the rear wall and toed in slightly. I have a large sofa and a large rug on laminate flooring.

My main issues with the sound so far is centre around the lower frequencies. There is a loss of low bass authority, and the low mids are either muddy or thin. I have been constantly adjusting the Servo settings trying to dial in an a sound that is acceptable for all records... no love yet.

I use the high level in on the Servo amps. I have found that using the line in off my pre-amp cuts the top octave from my mains.

Today I got motivated and got out the gear to do some measurements. I placed my testing mic at 1m back and just below the centre of the P-Audio driver to do a series of frequency sweeps. (I am very inexperienced with this, so any tips are appreciated). After a lot of back and forth, here is the best I could get with adjustments to the Servo amps:

RED: Servo - BLUE: P-Audio - BLACK: combined

Servo Settings:

SteveRB

Re: Setting Up My V1s
« Reply #1 on: 3 Mar 2013, 06:05 am »
BLUE: P-Audio

There seems to be either a large peak at 90Hz or a dip at 140Hz on the P-Audio.

Either way, integrating the Servo has been very difficult. I have so far settled on a low CrossOver point (50Hz). Any higher and the Servos combine with the 90Hz peak and go through the roof.