Windows 8 vs Apple opinions needed

Don_S

Windows 8 vs Apple opinions needed
« on: 5 Nov 2012, 06:33 pm »
Help,  I don't want to start a war here.  I have no agenda other than picking out a new computer.  I am not a techie and feel lost with the only options I see available to me.

My Dell XP desktop is giving me warnings of "high memory usage" and "high CPU usage".  I have upgraded memory to the max 3GB.  The computer is slow and I know XP will someday be abandoned by MSFT. Computer is 6.5 years old.  Not ancient but nearing its tech life expectancy.

In my searching I have found out that W7 would be a learning curve for me.  So would Apple and W8.  I would like to decide what to do in time for the Frantic Friday and Manic Monday sales less than two weeks away.

What to do, what to do?  My concerns are many Microsoft Word documents as well as Open Office. I also have many years worth of Turbo Tax software and completed tax forms. What will Apple do with those?  In the future will I have to purchase a different (more expensive) version of Turbo Tax if I go Apple?

Sometimes I think Apple is too cute for their (and their customers) own good. I don't like the iMac due to the price and possible repair difficulties.  Other than that I think it is slick looking but much too expensive.  I have a nice HP 22" monitor I could pair with a Mini but I don't like the "pieces" approach. Real dumb Apple. Mini + external optical drive + external card reader.   But I would go that way if going Apple is better than going W8.

A big concern for me is getting lost in the translation to a new language be it W8 or Apple. FYI, I don't need or use 99% of the crap that comes with either OS.  Slick features would probably be lost on me if they are outside of surfing, email, and simple photo editing. No media server needed. Must work well with TurboTax, e*Trade Pro, and Fidelity Trader Pro.

Suggestions please. What are your impressions of W8?

JohnR

Re: Windows 8 vs Apple opinions needed