finished my Cornet - wow !

troporobo

« on: 14 Feb 2006, 01:28 am »
I finshed my Cornet on the weekend and can only say wow!  This is a great phono stage, and an excellent kit.

I am really impressed with the upgrade to my analog chain.  Subjectively I'm hearing a fuller, richer, and yet "cleaner" and seemingly flatter response.  The Cornet is producing much better extension at both ends of the frequency spectrum, better control especially in the bass, and is dead quiet.  (RIAA equalization was previously handled by a Musical Fidelity X-LPS, and I have also compared to a Basie preamp and a Rotel RA-02)  Problems I previously attributed to my speakers are now GONE

The build process was straightforward and enjoyable, and the PCB made it nearly foolproof.  The only mods I made to the standard kit was the Auricap upgrade, and a custom case to match other components in my system.  I'm a newbie at building active electronics and it still took me only 3 evenings.  I would point out that it is possible to build the Cornet in a 2" high Hammond case but does require a little extra work and care and surgery with a Dremel!  Thanks to Jim for the occassional (very quick!) email support.

If you've been thinking about this phono stage and wondering if its for you, my recommendation is to get off the fence and warm up your soldering iron!

At the risk of immodesty, the rest of my system pics are here:

http://photobucket.com/albums/b122/troporobo/

Tabascosauce

« Reply #1 on: 14 Feb 2006, 09:36 am »
By coincidence, I currently use an X-LPS, and have been eyeing this kit for some time.

I take it you found it to be a significant improvement over the X-LPS?

troporobo

« Reply #2 on: 14 Feb 2006, 11:42 pm »