Maggies fuse replacement

TJ-Sully

Maggies fuse replacement
« on: 4 Jan 2019, 01:26 am »
hi folks

well...my new (used) Magnepan 3.6R's are set up AND connected to my new Bryston 4Bcubed. I'm a happy camper so far.
Tube pre-amp will be replacing a Bryston BP20 in a few weeks.  Can't wait!  :thumb:

A question about fuses....where to buy replacement fuses? The Maggie manual says..."Type SAG normal blow fuses (4 amp for midrange; 2-1/2 amp for tweeter". Are these regular or "normal" fuses found at hardware stores?  Or are there other...more audiophile-grade fuses out there?  Thoughts on this anyone?  I have no experience in this regard.

thanks all!

TJ

SteveFord

• Facilitator
  • The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.
Re: Maggies fuse replacement
« Reply #1 on: 4 Jan 2019, 02:16 am »
Uh oh, now you've gone and done it!

I'm cheap and just went to Radio Shack when I needed some.

Elizabeth

• So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
« Reply #2 on: 4 Jan 2019, 02:32 am »
The fuses must be FAST BLOW.
When I bought new Magnepan 3.6 back in 2010... I did not do anything to the fuses for a year. Then I bought some which were on sale, HiFi Tuning. I think I paid well under a hundred bucks for all four. (I do not remember, but I am cheap...) I also used the Sekela tweak, of a small choke in the place of the tweeter resistor.
Somewhere around year five I bypassed the midrange fuse (only) to much better sound.
This past Spring I upgraded to 20.7 Magnepans. I actually took the fuses from the 3.6 and stuck them in the 20.7s. Even though the 20.7 take a 5 amp instead of a 4. I do not care.
You can go to "The Cable Company" website and look at all sorts of fuses. From $30 to $250. (each)
Like I did, I suggest you let your speakers break in, play them for a year.. before you change anything.