Wharfedale EVO 4.4 Upgrade Kit Instructions

brettws

Wharfedale EVO 4.4 Upgrade Kit Instructions
« on: 9 May 2023, 09:33 am »
Hi All,
I'm a newbie on this forum.
After looking at the Youtube video on the upgrade kit for the Wharfedale EVO 4.4's I'm wondering how challenging it is to upgrade my speakers myself. I'm assuming there are instructions that come with the upgrade kit, but will I be required to solder any wires etc?
Also, does it make any difference that I am based in the UK?
Thanks for your time.
Brett

Danny Richie

• Facilitator
    • http://www.gr-research.com
Re: Wharfedale EVO 4.4 Upgrade Kit Instructions
« Reply #1 on: 9 May 2023, 12:56 pm »
Everything you need comes in the kit.

We do not shoot a video on the assembly of every upgrade kit.

brettws

« Reply #2 on: 9 May 2023, 01:00 pm »
Great, thank you Danny.

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
« Reply #3 on: 9 May 2023, 01:11 pm »
Usually the only difficult part is removing the rubber gaskets around the drivers especially the mid dome, but it just requires patience and a steady hand.
But they're only friction fit in and once they're removed you can access the screws to remove the drivers.
The new crossover layout is fairly simple and you can send us pictures if your need confirmation of layout.

The only other thing you will need to get is a board to put the crossover on and something like peg board is an easy place to start.

brettws

« Reply #4 on: 9 May 2023, 01:41 pm »
Hi Hobbsmeerkat,
Thank you for your reply. So, to be clear, the kit will need me to make the board and mount things etc, as well as soldering it to the drivers in the speaker, right?
Cheers,
Brett
https://gr-research.com/product/wharfedale-evo-4-4-upgrade-pair/

Hobbsmeerkat

• Industry Participant
« Reply #5 on: 9 May 2023, 07:11 pm »
Hi Hobbsmeerkat,
Thank you for your reply. So, to be clear, the kit will need me to make the board and mount things etc, as well as soldering it to the drivers in the speaker, right?
Cheers,