A simple suggestion for new audiophiles

chadh

A simple suggestion for new audiophiles
« on: 6 May 2009, 03:34 pm »

This one is so simple, I have no idea why I've never done it before.  It also raises the question of why speaker manufacturers would make such a horrible compromise in the first place.  But here it goes...

Suppose you have speakers capable of being bi-wired.  And suppose the manufacturer provided you with big brass jumper plates to connect the binding posts on your speakers when not bi-wired.  THROW THOSE BRASS PLATES AWAY, NOW, and replace them, even with the cheapest wires you can find.

I have a little system in my office now.  I'm running USB out of my computer to a Peachtree Audio Decco (which is a USB DAC, and integrated amp with tube pre-amp section and headphone amp, all-in-one).  The speakers I'm using are an old pair of Kef Q15 bookshelf speakers.  They are bi-wirable, and came with brass jumper plates between the binding posts.  Well, I recently made myself a set of the "White Lightning Moonshine" cables, and decided to make some jumpers for these speakers using the same formula.  My goodness, what a difference! 

Now, I find it pragmatic to insist that cabling doesn't make a big difference in your audio system, partly because I simply can't afford to believe the alternative, and partly because it would cause me a great deal of anxiety trying to find the "right" cables.  This is a matter of principle, then, not a considered scientific stance.  However, it seems clear to me now that plates of brass have no place in my audio chain.  I think I can take that stance without tarnishing my resolution over cabling.

This change didn't just "strip away a layer of grunge" from the sound.  It was more like dragging the sound out of the depths of a Scottish peat bog and subjecting it to some expensive, industrial cleaning process so it would be sufficiently hygienic for use in food preparation, or maybe surgical procedures.