DIY Room Lens

1000a

DIY Room Lens
« on: 13 May 2007, 06:35 am »
Bob if this belongs in DIY sorry it seems the place to post it.  For reference I have had no prior experience with other formal room treatments, so I cannot compare them to this.  It does seem from what I have read these should be used without other treatments to rec. their full benefit. 

A few people are looking to build a room lens after “The Argent” so since I have finished mine (construction wise mostly that is) I am elected.  I will keep this short (gee I see how short it is now) until and if questions occur.  The designer of the Argent Room Lens is Ric Cummins, so he gets the credit for an incredible idea and product it seems is no longer available or I find no website for.

Is it worth the effort?  Well IMS (tube amp) and IMR (concrete floor covered w wood laminate) where I have no formal room treatments just area rug and the like furnishings > Beyond the shadow of a doubt (not subtle at all), improvement IMS is substantial, as impressive as:

#1 Going from cat5 design to homebrew designed magwire SC, ICs & PCs.
Opened soundstage up big time, lots of air & space, tons more detail, incredible bass.

#2-Going from no tube dampers to tube dampers, Halos.
Similar to #1 in improvement just not as much, but for perspective
the tube dampers caused my jaw to literally hang open. 

With #1 magwire - I did 1 change at a time - the cumulative improvement is just OFF THE SCALE.  If you have not experimented with this stuff you are loosing out, people did not sell 1,200. cable after using the Anti-Cable because they were nuts and if you DIY you can beat those designs easily, at least the SCs.

These are the 2 most incredible changes IMS regardless of money spent no amps DACs or speakers period!  So where does the Room lens fall, it equals the tube dampers easily, cost about 50. to 75. to build.