Placing SongTower near wall

senkrish

Placing SongTower near wall
« on: 16 Jan 2015, 07:55 pm »
After using my current setup of speakers (Polk Satellites) for about 10 years I have finally decided to pull the plug to upgrade. The Salk Towers are in my short list, I've read nothing but great positive reviews about these towers. I noticed that these are rear ported. I'll be placing the fronts on a 10' wall and there's a hall way one end of the wall. So i'll have to place the fronts as close to the wall as possible, without obstructing the passage to the hall way.

My question is how close can I place the STs to the wall? The standard recommendation is 2' from the wall, but I dont have that luxury. The speakers will have to be few inches from the wall. Will this cause bass distortion (if that's the right word, i'm fairly new to audio) with the STs? Do the ports come with plugs I can use to solve this problem?

My room is 13 x 14 x 9, it opens to a kitchen 13 x 8. So open space dimension is really 13 x 22 x 9. I've attached a picture to show the floor plan. Thanks for your help.

Gzerro

Re: Placing SongTower near wall
« Reply #1 on: 17 Jan 2015, 07:01 am »
You can order song towers front ported. Just specify when you order.

glangford

« Reply #2 on: 17 Jan 2015, 12:34 pm »
The transmission line cabinet is supposed to be not as sensitive to placement from a wall.  I've got my SCST a foot from a wall, they sound just fine.

MichiganMike

« Reply #3 on: 17 Jan 2015, 02:01 pm »
I have Salk SongTowers placed with the front roughly even with the front of my TV stand.  The rear port is about 6 inches from the wall behind the stand.  This may not be the ideal placement, but the speakers sound very good to my ears and do not interfere with walking paths in the room.  The bass sounds extended but not boomy.