New to the hobby. Setting up new system

ernest787

New to the hobby. Setting up new system
« on: 3 Apr 2013, 06:52 pm »
Hi guys. I'm new to the audiophile hobby and  setting up my first system that will be used exclusively for music and a majority of that will be vinyl listening.

That said, I just purchased a pair of SAlk song towers with RT and a "10 tc sub

I now need to purchase the rest of the components but my head is starting to spin lol

I don't have a huge budget left right now so I think I'm going to have to make some sig compromises initially and then upgrade down the road.

I'm thinking of purchasing a Crown XLS 2000 for the amp but am torn on the preamp.

Everyone is tellin me the emotivia pre amp shouldn't be paired with the rest of the system. After purchasing everything else i don't want to spend more than 1k on the pre amp.

Any advice on current or even used pre amps I can get in that price range that would serve me well for the next year or two till I could afford to spend more on a pre amp?

Frans

• Has anyone seen my last marble?
Re: New to the hobby. Setting up new system
« Reply #1 on: 4 Apr 2013, 04:46 am »
A nice, yet inexpensive way to enjoy 2 channel analog would be something like the Pioneer A-20 (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Home/AV-Receivers/Elite+Amplifiers/A-20).

Austin08

« Reply #2 on: 4 Apr 2013, 05:32 am »
Maybe this should fit the bill.

parasound2100

Plus this used amp just posted here.

AVA240.

This should be a very capable combo at a minimal budget.  :thumb:

rohrej

« Reply #3 on: 4 Apr 2013, 06:49 am »