Bamberg Series 5 MTM and Dual XLS Subwoofer system

pocket4

Bamberg Series 5 MTM and Dual XLS Subwoofer system
« on: 25 Sep 2007, 04:45 pm »
I had been on a quest for a new pair of speakers for quite some time. I had been listening to a pair of Legacy Focus's for 8 years. That I was very satisfied with, but after reading reviews I would make the rounds and audition numerous pairs of highly regarded speakers. I always walked away satisfied with the pair Focus's and their ability to play music. Until a buddy called and wanted me to come over and hear his new pair of Tyler Woodmere's. Very nice speakers but at 15,000.00 they were not in the budget. I was intrigue with the sound of the Seas drivers used in the Woodmere's. I was back on my quest to find a speaker using the Seas drivers with in my budget. After a lot of reseach I realize to get the optimum performance out of the drivers you really had to know the science of building really great crossovers.

I got lucky and along the way I found Phil Bamberg at www.bamberglab.com. Phil fills the gap in his offerings between ready made products and the diy guy, as I turned out to be. Phil is well known for his ability to design total speaker systems and standing behind his products. In my search I read the reviews on his speakers and all of them had the same theme. Their voice! I'm a music lover first and a audiophile second, and so is Phil.

Rather than buy his ready to play speakers. I choose to build a pair of Series 5 MTM and Dual XLS subwoofers with the active crossover he offers. I wanted to match a Walnut entertainment center I was building. With the outstanding plans he provided and Phil's support via phone and email the project was a HUGE success!