Air - Is It "Good"?

TJHUB

Air - Is It "Good"?
« on: 2 Sep 2009, 02:11 am »
I am COMPLETELY new to tubes and I recently purchased my first DAC with a tube buffer; a Music Hall DAC 25.2.  The DAC came stock with an Electro-Harmonix 6922 tube which after about 50 hours of use sounded ok.  But without going into any deep detail, I found the highs to be decent with good decay, the midrange to be slightly grainy, and the bass is just plain muddy.  So on to some tube rolling...

What I've listened to thus far besides the EH 6922:

Telefunken E88CC 1960's:  Hate it!  Nice bass control, but the midrange is just too smooth and hollow sounding, and the highs are very dark.  The tube sounds as if a lot of the music is just gone.  Imaging is smeared, but the music is coherent.  This was a VERY expensive tube, and it's just awful!

RCA branded 6D8J/E88CC made in Holland (Amperex?):  This is a nice sounding tube overall.  The bass is bit overdone which takes away from the midbass, the midrange is very nice right between smooth and grainy (if that makes sense), and the highs are open with nice air (which will bring me to my question in a minute).  Imaging is focused, and the music is coherent.  This tube is on loan from an acquaintance from another forum.  I could live with this tube except for the overdone bass. 

Tesla E88CC NOS 1980's:  This is my tube!  Love it (so far)!  This tube sounds very balanced top to bottom.  The bass is VERY balanced like I'm used to from my solid state DAC (PS Audio DLIII) with perfect midbass, the midrange is a little smoother sounding than the RCA without being too much, the highs are nice and extended but there is little air.  Imaging is focused and the music is coherent.  The sound stage is still holographic and deep.  This is the BEST tube I've heard and this is the first tube that makes me think this DAC is a keeper and I can sell my PS Audio DAC (which I used to love).