Battery Power for WTA?

doak

Battery Power for WTA?
« on: 11 Jul 2013, 04:02 pm »
Anyone using battery power to supply the motor on a WTA or other WTL TT?

I've been using this PS successfully for about 2 years on my WTA:
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=120-536

I'm curious about the possible benefits of using something like this:
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=140-368

with a charger to top it up between listening sessions:
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=365-008

Informed/experienced advice/opinions preferred, please.   :wink:

Doak

SteevA

Re: Battery Power for WTA?
« Reply #1 on: 11 Jul 2013, 09:38 pm »
Never tried it. Not sure it would be necessary but still a good thing to try, even if just to tick off the list, if you could borrow one.

If it came to spending money without first trying I think I would spend it elsewhere first.

Steve

threadkiller

« Reply #2 on: 12 Jul 2013, 03:10 am »
I do know Firebaugh did it for a while when he was putting the table thru its paces.  No sonic improvement said he.
You might google Charles Altman, who had those battery powered amps and DAC's.  We tried it once, no big whoo there, either.

doak

« Reply #3 on: 12 Jul 2013, 03:23 am »
Thanks guys.   :thumb:

bung99

« Reply #4 on: 12 Jul 2013, 06:12 am »
 I have been running my dynavector P-57 mkII & my Amadeus GT on battery since day one as do not like switching power supplies in the line.
I can't say there is any improvement but all I know there are less noise makers in my power system so this must help. 

threadkiller

« Reply #5 on: 12 Jul 2013, 02:13 pm »
That all depends on so many things- your home power box, your area of the country, etc.
I have a dedicated line- works wonders.
Plus you are the perfect candidate for a WTL DPS.

rob400

• Versalex and Audio Note for the rest
« Reply #6 on: 12 Jul 2013, 03:11 pm »