215 sub question

rblnr

215 sub question
« on: 29 Nov 2005, 02:40 pm »
The top and side panels of my new 215 sub (w/megawoofer and soundcoat) vibrate when in use.  I don't think the sub volume is turned up too high.  I'm new to subs -- is it unreasonable to expect a totally inert cabinet?

CornellAlum

215 sub question
« Reply #1 on: 29 Nov 2005, 04:01 pm »
Not unreasonable, but fairly hard to obtain as well.  You could open her up and add lots of bracing as well as Blackhole 5, it solved the problem for me.

jgubman

215 sub question
« Reply #2 on: 29 Nov 2005, 04:52 pm »
I've owned subs from Infinity, HSU Research, SVS and VMPS. None of the cabinets have ever been inert.

CornellAlum

215 sub question
« Reply #3 on: 29 Nov 2005, 05:04 pm »
I don't think a cabinet will ever be completely inert.  It's a matter of whether it vibrates to the point of creating a resonance mode that matters.

Brian Cheney

• http://www.vmpsaudio.com
weight
« Reply #4 on: 29 Nov 2005, 05:17 pm »
I recommend heavy weights on top of the cabinet.  100 lbs or more work well.  Not only does this reduce vibration, you get cleaner sound!

rblnr

215 sub question
« Reply #5 on: 29 Nov 2005, 07:38 pm »
I've owned subs from Infinity, HSU Research, SVS and VMPS. None of the cabinets have ever been inert

Wondered if others were inert, thanks for the info.

How much of an operation was it to dissemble and add Blackhole?  How would you rate the improvement?

Have a rubber yoga mat and some dumbells nearby, I'll try some weight on top.

CornellAlum

215 sub question
« Reply #6 on: 29 Nov 2005, 07:43 pm »
It's not much of a chore.  Realisticall;y, it took an hour tops to do it right.  Improvement I would put in the 50 percent land, and I am not kidding.

John Casler

Re: weight
« Reply #7 on: 29 Nov 2005, 09:04 pm »
Quote from: Brian Cheney
I recommend heavy weights on top of the cabinet.  100 lbs or more work well.  Not only does this reduce vibration, you get cleaner sound!