looking for a 2A3/45 SET amplifier for my Open Baffle speakers ~

-Richard-

I designed and built my own Open Baffle speakers... each panel has 2 drivers that are crossed over with a simple coiled inductor... both are 97db sensitive. I write quite a bit on the Open Baffle forum here on AC.

I have had extensive experience with 2 different 45 SET tube amplifiers with my OB's... I liked them both but moved on for various reasons. I would like to enter once again the rarefied atmosphere of the 2A3/45 world.

I have owned the Korneff... very interesting sound but too physically heavy for me.

Does anyone on this forum have experience with 2A3/45 SET tube amplifiers?

I need one that does bass very well (OB's lose bass because there is no box)... has that mid-range magic... and is very refined on the top end (for a convincing transparent portrayal of violins for example).

I would deeply appreciate your observations and insights. So thanks in advance for any help you can give me with this.

With Warmest Regards ~ Richard

InfernoSTi

I have Hawthorne Audio SSI Trios (OB) and run a Bottlehead Stereomore 2A3 amp with them.  I know Edgar4 has the same amp but different OB speakers, too.  The Stereomour can be configured as either a 2A3 or a 45 amp (and you can play 2A3 tubes in the 45 configuration but not the other way around).  I've upgraded to Mundorf Silver In Oil coupling and parafeed caps (and Ed has upgraded to another flavor of caps) as well as tube rolled.

The Parafeed circuit is known for deep bass as a rule and it holds with the Stereomour.  The cap upgrades made the upper end silky and extended (at least with the Mundorf SIO).  The tube rolling has settled down to a couple of modern tubes, but I do have some older RCAs (grey, black, and single plates and several drivers including Telefunken and Mullard).  I finally left the JJ Telsa 2A3-40 and Pavane 12AT7-T tubes in and am really pleased.