Newbie to Single Driver - Please help me figure out my speaker needs....

Ultralight

Greetings,

To cut a long story short.  First trip to a 'mid-fi' store blew my mind when I auditioned some Sonus Faber driven by a stack of McIntosh equipment.  I've listened to live concert for years but never thought reproduced music could sound equally pleasurable. (Apologies - as I said, I'm a newbie.)  Preferred that sound over the B&Ws and Martin Logans.   The fullness, weight, presence, warmth, musicality etc. 

So I'm looking to approximate as much of that as possible on a smaller budget, and smaller space.  Namely, I'd like to put together a system for my office with listening distance of between 3 1/2 and 5 feet.  Not a lot of distance from the speakers.

What I'd like:
1. Tube amp for the warmth.
2. Speakers that produce a sense of weight, presence, and warmth even at low listening level for long non-fatiguing listen, but without being overly tubby and to retain as much detail as possible.  Also, I'd like to have as much pinpoint imaging rather than just a wall of sound.
3. My music - acoustic classical, vocals, jazz, and the like. No rock, metal etc. 

Questions for you pros:
1. Would a full range single speaker be the best solution.  Due to the close listening distance, I'm assuming that multiple drivers won't come together to at such a close distance.

2. I see many 'full range' speakers with a tweeter.  I'm not understanding that - doesn't that make them function like a regular two driver speaker?  Or does such a set up still image well?

3. Since I'd like a sense of weight and depth at low volume, I'm told that a larger driver is ideal.  Yet at close distances, a smaller driver is supposed to give better imaging and staging.  So how do I figure this out? What size driver may be ideal?

4. Any speaker recommendations? 

My room is about 11.5 by 13 by 8 ceiling.

Thanks in advance for any help.

UL

« Last Edit: 12 May 2011, 06:53 pm by Ultralight »

milford3