What to expect on impedance changes

Ozzie

What to expect on impedance changes
« on: 6 Sep 2018, 06:47 pm »
I am a newbie here. I just had the Tortuga board and OLED installed in my vacuum tube pre amp. I must admit that I am silly happy with the results. I guess my next step would be to see if there are any gains by altering the impedance. I'll go with 4 more impedance values, every 20 k ohms. What can be expected sonically as I bump up the impedance?

This is my rig:

ClefChef

Re: What to expect on impedance changes
« Reply #1 on: 6 Sep 2018, 10:24 pm »
I am a newbie here. I just had the Tortuga board and OLED installed in my vacuum tube pre amp. I must admit that I am silly happy with the results. I guess my next step would be to see if there are any gains by altering the impedance. I'll go with 4 more impedance values, every 20 k ohms. What can be expected sonically as I bump up the impedance?

Your tube preamp's input impedance is very high (100k-150k?) and, therefore, not susceptible to source output impedance variations. The "source" in your case is LDR "pot". I recommend setting the Tortuga to the highest impedance rating to facilitate your music source output loading.

Ozzie

« Reply #2 on: 7 Sep 2018, 02:43 am »
Thank you C2. What kind of difference should I expect sonicaly? Highs, lows, whatever.

tortugaranger

• Facilitator
  • Innovated passive & active preamp technology
    • Tortuga Audio
« Reply #3 on: 7 Sep 2018, 08:19 pm »
The adjustable impedance feature does NOT have a clearly predictable outcome. Much depends on the interactions, design, and specs of your source and amp and if you're using a buffer downstream of the Tortuga attenuator. In some systems there's no discernable change in sound quality while in others there may be an optimal setting somewhere above or below the default 20k. I don't believe you can predict the outcome. In many instances you may not be able to tell any difference at all. It's really an exploratory feature.