WTA GT with Denon DL-103GL

Antinchip

WTA GT with Denon DL-103GL
« on: 24 Apr 2018, 10:07 am »
Hello from the UK.

I have been using a Linn LP12 for many years but thought I would explore other vinyl replay options to see if the grass might be greener.

I have recently bought a pre-loved Well Tempered Amadeus GT. I used this initially with a Shure V15iii and Jico SAS as used in the LP12 with Infinity Black Widow tonearm and was very pleased with the results, WTA the winner I think.

I have now added a pre-loved Denon DL 103GL refurbished with a new cantilever, shibata diamond, additional damping and bronze shim/spacer to add mass. This used together with a Harmonious Audio MPA-1a Mk2 battery powered head amp feeding a Croft RIAA-R valve phono stage.

Set up was interesting as I needed to add bolts to the counterweight. I have now added an XTC heavy counterweight to ensure correct VTF and tracking. All sounding sublime but I suspect I might need to tweak a little more to really dial it all in. I am running VTF at 2.2g for now but will try different settings in the 2.0g to 2.5g range.

I would be interested to know if any other members have experience of this combination. Many thanks.

Cheers

Anthony

mick wolfe

Re: WTA GT with Denon DL-103GL
« Reply #1 on: 24 Apr 2018, 04:55 pm »
I have an Amadeus (the original) as well.  Have used stock Denon 103's (and R's), Zu 103's, Zu 103R's and an ESCC re-built 103R with aluminum body. The XTC "heavy" counterweight is used with the Zu's and ESCC. SUT is the "entry level" A23. FWIW, Ive gotten nothing but superb results from any of these combinations.

Antinchip

« Reply #2 on: 25 Apr 2018, 11:20 am »
Mick,

Thank you for your reply. Glad to hear that you have had good experiences with the WTA and Denon 103.