Hello and Bryston question

BrystonNewb

Hello and Bryston question
« on: 31 Jan 2018, 09:45 pm »
Hello All:

I'm new to Audio Circle and have a question about my Bryston 2B LP amp and 0.5B pre-amp (non pro) which until today had been carefully stored for the last couple of years.  The amp was just inside the warranty when I bought it and was shipped by the seller to Bryston for a check up, then delivered to me as bench testing ok.

I hooked up the pair today and have a noticeable hum in both speakers.  I've tried moving cables and interconnects around, I've plugged the amp directly into the wall with the pre on a good quality power bar, but still have the hum.

Any suggestions as to a cause and possible solutions?  Any chance the amp power supply needs replacing?  I was hoping to get another 20 years out it, lol!

Cheers,
BrystonNewb

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Hello and Bryston question
« Reply #1 on: 31 Jan 2018, 10:21 pm »
welcome aboard BrystonNewb :thumb:

Ron D

« Reply #2 on: 31 Jan 2018, 10:42 pm »
Welcome!

Post the same question on the Bryston board and I am sure you will get quick feedback

Phil A

« Reply #3 on: 31 Jan 2018, 11:39 pm »
Welcome!  As noted above, posting on the Bryston board will help.  Is there a cable box in the system?

James Tanner

• Facilitator
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
« Reply #4 on: 1 Feb 2018, 10:54 am »
Hi NewB - welcome!

If you plug the amplifier in and turn it on with just the speakers connected (no inputs to the amplifier) does it hum?

james

rob80b

« Reply #5 on: 1 Feb 2018, 02:53 pm »
As James mentioned is there hum with just the 2B connected to the speakers to rule out grounding issues between the pre-amp and components.
Are the .5 and 2B stacked and what components are you using...turntable?