Building phono stage kit. Any advice?

nlitworld

• Strange things are afoot at the Circle K
Building phono stage kit. Any advice?
« on: 6 Apr 2023, 12:50 pm »
So I finally decided to pull the trigger building myself a phono preamp kit. I have done some modifications to items but this is my first time building a full kit and having quite a bit of $ (for me at least) going towards it. I ended up purchasing a Vacuum Tube Audio PH16 pcb kit and transformer and I plan to have a SUT built inside with alternate inputs for MC and MM. I got this idea from the Don Sachs builds based on the same kits. I plan to do this build one time and deck it out right with nice upgraded parts (signal path caps, tubes, rca plugs, etc). Anyways, I know I'll be able to fumble my way through things, but if there's any tricks or tips you guys have that'll help, I'd love to hear them. My main concerns are if a barrier that shields the power is suggested (and SUT too I guess), suggestions for good shielded wire for signal wire, and suggested 6922 tubes.

My thoughts on a build list are as follows:
Main kit for most parts
VTA 1:10 SUT
Audyn True Copper Max signal path caps
KLE Perfect Harmony RCA plugs
Furutech FI-06 IEC connector
VH Audio Pulsar Cu II signal path wiring
Gold Lion 6922 tubes
Possible upgrade of resistors in critical areas

Thanks for all the help,

-Lloyd

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
Re: Building phono stage kit. Any advice?
« Reply #1 on: 6 Apr 2023, 03:43 pm »
All your choices seem well thought out. 
Make sure you have a good soldering station and use good quality solder.   Wear shoes and have good ventilation.   
Please follow up with your listening impressions.    :thumb:

nlitworld

« Reply #2 on: 6 Apr 2023, 06:20 pm »