Looking for quality speakers for a single-ended pentode tube amp, under $1k

Edward4

• I like vinyl; learning about tube amps...
Hi everybody. I'm new to learning about sound systems, and I think maybe I need to replace my cheap speakers. I'm just not sure where to start. I ideally want them to have good quality capacitors and so on inside, and to work really well, or at least somewhat well, with my current amp.

Background: I have this GemTune X-1 amp that I got six years ago, and if possible, I'd like to just get good speakers that would cooperate beautifully with it. It has four tubes on it, including a couple EL34-type tubes, and it allegedly puts out about 8 watts per channel. It sounds great for some types of music, like flute solos or violin solos, but on other types of music with more instruments, it seems to distort or lose its clarity. Also I think maybe the cheap speakers I have (Polk TSi 200, no idea what the impedance curve looks like, allegedly 89db sensitivity) simply don't have much clarity due to the principle of "I get what I pay for", but this fact might be hidden by some types of music. Other types of music, like where a jazz drummer rubs those brush things on his drums, it just sounds like mush; it sounds very fuzzy. I assume this is due to inexpensive capacitors or inductors inside that smear the sound signals a bit, in order to bring the product to market at the low price I paid for it.

1. So I've heard rumors that low-power amps require high sensitivity speakers, right?
2. I've also heard rumors that tube amps are not like solid state amps, and sensitivity is not the main thing, but having high impedance is what is important, where the impedance curve does not dip down too low anywhere.
3. And finally, I've also heard rumors that no, neither sensitivity nor have a minimum-level of impedance matters, what matters is having a flat impedance curve.