Constant Current Source for Cornet.

Doc Jr 8156

« on: 10 Nov 2003, 08:24 pm »
Hello,

Can anyone please explain in lay man's term how to implement this upgrade.  I tried studying the schematic Jim provided in the tips page but no luck.  I' d like to know what extra parts are needed and where to connect them.  I'm sorry, I really am a DIY beginner.  Thanks for the help. : :notworthy:

GRD

« Reply #1 on: 11 Nov 2003, 02:22 am »
How far along are you in the construction of the Cornet?  You could install  the resistors and do the CCS upgrade later if you wanted.  When I bought the kit, I purchased the 30k 5W resistors along with the components for the current source (also from Mauser) so I could just plug in the resistor if installing the current source seemed too difficult.  Installing the hum fix will give you a taste of what the CCS will entail.  I'm also new to DIY and it was a bit tricky for me to do all of that soldering above the board.  I studied the CCS schematic and the pictures on this web site for a couple of days and played with the layout of the components.  I eventually decided to try the CCS, but I had the resistors as a back-up.    And I've gotten pretty good at de-soldering.

In the meantime, here's the parts list I ordered from Mauser except I used a different heatsink.  I think this is the heatsink others are using.  I also used thermal paste with the heatsink, which I think you can find at Radioshack.

Qty
2 - 511-MJE340  NPN FASTSW PW ST Power Bipolar Transistors (print out spec sheet on Mauser catalog for future reference)
4 - 281-1.0K  Xicon 1W 5% Small Metal Oxide Resistors
2 - 140-XRL16V100 16V 100uF 20% Xicon Radial Electrolytic Capacitors
2 - 532-577500B00  BLACK ANODIZE TO-126 Heatsink

Doc Jr 8156

« Reply #2 on: 11 Nov 2003, 04:29 pm »