Pre amp for MC cart, budget 1K

VinceT

Pre amp for MC cart, budget 1K
« on: 6 Oct 2020, 03:19 am »
Did I mention I want tubes as well  :lol: Big ask I know.

I got a Dynavector 20x2 MC cart on the way on a Well Tempered Amadeaus turntable.

Doesn't have to be tubes, used market is fine. At a 1k budget, may prefer going used to get a better bang for the buck.

I am new to the MC cart world, I have been using MM carts on more mid-fi gear and decided to slowly start upgrading. 

Thanks in advance

Vince

twitch54

Re: Pre amp for MC cart, budget 1K
« Reply #1 on: 6 Oct 2020, 01:16 pm »
I've always been somewhat 'Rogue' ................

http://www.rogueaudio.com/Products_phonopreamps.htm

jjss49

« Reply #2 on: 6 Oct 2020, 05:37 pm »
you will not get a really quiet and good performing tube mc phono stage for under a grand, even used

suggest a lehmann black cube se - then put tubes in at the linestage level

or dyna's own p75 - it is very well matched to the carts, obviously

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
« Reply #3 on: 6 Oct 2020, 06:25 pm »
I think the Jolida JD9 phono pre punches way above it's weight. 

sunnydaze

« Reply #4 on: 6 Oct 2020, 07:26 pm »
you will not get a really quiet and good performing tube mc phono stage for under a grand, even used

I disagree.

I bought three, all used in the $500 to $600 range.  All do both MM and MC and IMO all are detailed, quiet and musical:

JuicyMusic Tercel mk2 (SUT + tube MM)
Blue Circle BC27-pi  (all solid state)
Tavish Audio Vintage 6SL7  (SS head amp + tube MM)

I love tubes but would not consider all tubed, including the MC section, as a good path.  Too noisey.
My advise is tubes in MM section, and either SS or SUT for the additional MC gain.

Some VG phono sections have no tubes.  Going that route I would need tubes in the line stage.  But that's my taste.

I guess everyone has their own definition of "good performing".  Additionally, on what level