RM-9 new owner - suggestions?

hoppy08520

RM-9 new owner - suggestions?
« on: 19 Jan 2011, 02:58 pm »
Hello, if all goes well I will have a RM-9 MK1 soon. I am buying it from a classified (not local) and am planning to have the seller ship the RM-9 to Music Reference for a checkup (although I haven't heard back from Music Reference for 4 or 5 days...hope they are checking email?) and then have Music Reference ship to me.

Looking for a few suggestions on what I should do.

For reference, I have Spendor S100 speakers, an Anthem Amp 1 40 wpc push pull EL34, an Anthem Pre 1 preamp, and I have a 18' x 23' room with speakers along the long wall.  I am not a serial upgrader, having owned the Spendors for 8 years and the Anthem amp and preamp for 9 or 10 years each. I'm hoping I'll hear a difference in the RM-9.

1. If I need new tubes (and I suspect I will; current owner says there are 10 years on the current RAM EL34 tubes), I'm thinking of KT88. I've been using a EL34 amp for 9 years now, so maybe I should mix it up a little?  Ideally I'd like a set of EL34's and KT88's and swap them around every few months or so for variety. I've read some of the other threads and it seems to be a matter of personal taste. I think I'm leaning away from 6550 (based on what I've read) as people seem to characterize these as emphasizing slam/authority and I would lean toward something more musical even I sacrifice some of the bigness the 6550 can deliver.

2. I plan to ask Roger if he can do whatever trick he does to the amp to reinforce the tube sockets so you can roll tubes. There was another thread (http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=78664) in this Circle in which he suggested he could do this.

3. Speaker binding posts: the speaker cables I have are inexpensive AudioQuest with bananas plugs. Will that work on this amp or do I need smaller spade cables?