Making NX-Otica look good from the back?

Edward4

• I like vinyl; learning about tube amps...
Making NX-Otica look good from the back?
« on: 11 Apr 2023, 01:20 pm »
Hi folks. I'm new to audio stuff & new to making things with my hands.

I'm really enjoying my new XLS-Encore speakers, and I'm wondering what the NX-Otica would sound like in my home. I have a slightly large, carpeted living room, one that is fully open to an adjoining dining area and kitchen, and then right in the middle of this space I have a kind of "media island" with TV & sound system, facing toward a sofa. So the speakers can be seen from front and back. I've played with having two pairs of very small speakers in parallel, one set pointing forward and the other backward. But now I'm wondering what an open-baffle situation, with several woofers, would sound like.

Has anyone tried to make the NX-Otica look good from the back?

I suppose one would want to hide the wires, perhaps in a channel in the MDF, or perhaps spray-painting the wire insulation black. Can the back of the woofer drivers be painted black? Maybe spray-paint some wool so it's black, and lay it on top of the crossover? I think as long as things are all black, they don't stand out visually the way something stands out when it has a lot of strongly contrasting colors to it. Otherwise the red-and-white wires look a bit like a candy cane or a barber shop pole!

Would the NX-Otica sound good in the center of a slightly-large room?

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
Re: Making NX-Otica look good from the back?
« Reply #1 on: 11 Apr 2023, 01:32 pm »
Black spray paint. 
Or black window screen stapled in

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
« Reply #2 on: 11 Apr 2023, 03:50 pm »
That's the beauty of DIY, you can do it however you like.  No reason not to paint the wires black if you don't like how they look.  Just make sure to mark the positive and negative during hookup so you don't get them mixed up.